§1Policies
- Jharkhand Industrial and Investment Promotion Policy 2021 (JIIPP 2021)Unclear1 Apr 2021 - 31 Mar 2026
- Draft Jharkhand Industrial and Investment Promotion Policy 2026Unclear5 years from notification (dates blank in draft)
§2Incentive pattern
Paid 50% in year 1 and 50% in year 3. Food policy: 35-75% by component and area. JIIPP 2021 (ended): 25% with caps Rs 1/5/10/25 crore.
Jharkhand MSME Promotion Policy 2023 (Memo 1464 dated 11.11.2023)Food units in ITDP areas 6% up to Rs 3 crore; export units 5% up to Rs 50 lakh.
Jharkhand MSME Promotion Policy 2023 (Memo 1464 dated 11.11.2023)MSME Policy 2023 has no SGST item. Draft 2026 raises ceiling to 200% of FCI.
Jharkhand Industrial and Investment Promotion Policy 2021 - gazette copy on ChemIndia portal (text read here)Not for JIADA or industrial park plots.
Jharkhand MSME Promotion Policy 2023 (Memo 1464 dated 11.11.2023)Also in Food Policy 2024.
Jharkhand Export Policy 2023 (Gazette No. 442, notification 28 Jul 2023)No general EPF incentive in MSME Policy 2023.
Jharkhand Industrial and Investment Promotion Policy 2021 - gazette copy on ChemIndia portal (text read here)Private parks: 50% of project cost up to Rs 40 crore.
Jharkhand Export Policy 2023 (Gazette No. 442, notification 28 Jul 2023)§3State schemes
- JH MSME Policy 2023ActiveComprehensive Project Investment Subsidy (CPIS): micro 40%, small 35%, medium 30% of FCI, max Rs 15 crore
- JH Food Processing Policy 2024ActiveProcessing units: CPIS 35% of appraised project cost up to Rs 15 crore (general areas) / 45% up to Rs 20 crore (ITDP areas); interest subsidy 5% for…
- JH Export Policy 2023ActiveCapital interest subsidy: 5% on P&M loans for 5 years, max Rs 50 lakh per unit
- JIIPP 2021UnclearCPIS 25% of FCI: max Rs 1 crore (micro), Rs 5 crore (small), Rs 10 crore (medium), Rs 25 crore (non-MSME)
- JH Park & Logistics Policy 2022ActiveCPIS 50% of project cost, capped by size: 10 acres/5 units Rs 7 crore rising in steps to 75 acres/18 units Rs 40 crore
More incentives in the policy (19)
Name and benefit are from the policy; the full conditions are not on this page yet — see the policy document.
- JIIPP 2021 - Textiles & apparel / handicrafts packageCapital subsidy 20% up to Rs 50 crore; interest 7% or 50% up to Rs 1 crore; SGST 100% 7 yrs + 40% 3 yrs; Rs 5,000 (Rs 6,000 SC/ST/women) per worker per month for 7 yrs; EPF/ESI Rs 1,000/person/month 5 yrs
- JIIPP 2021 - Auto & EV packageCommon infrastructure 50% up to Rs 20 crore; VAT/SGST subsidy 75-80% up to 150% of capex
- JIIPP 2021 - ESDM packageCapital 10% up to Rs 10 crore; interest 50% or Rs 1 crore; ED 100% 10 yrs; recruitment Rs 20,000 per employee
- JIIPP 2021 - IT/ITeS packageCapital 10% for Rs 5-50 crore units with 100+ workers; lease rental 50% up to Rs 5 lakh/yr for 3 yrs
- JIIPP 2021 - Startups & incubatorsSeed up to Rs 3 lakh per startup; incubator capital up to Rs 1 crore; 50% lease rent up to Rs 5 lakh/yr; electricity and bandwidth 30% up to Rs 60,000/yr
- JIIPP 2021 - Education (engineering colleges, universities)Up to 25% of capex (excl. land) up to Rs 20 crore; universities Rs 5-12 crore by NAAC grade
- JIIPP 2021 - Healthcare (hospitals, nursing colleges)Up to 25% capex: Rs 5 crore (50 beds), Rs 12.5 crore (100 beds), Rs 25 crore (super-specialty 150 beds); nursing college Rs 1 crore
- JIIPP 2021 - Breweries & distilleries25% VAT reimbursement for 5 years up to 200% of capital investment
- JIIPP 2021 - Sick unitsDeferred electricity duty, power bill, property tax, water charges for 5 years; diagnostic study 50% up to Rs 2 lakh
- JIIPP 2021 - Cluster development15% of GoI grant as state top-up to SPV
- Jharkhand MSME (Special Concession) Act 2025Acknowledgement-certificate route to exempt MSMEs from certain state approvals and inspections (Hindi Act, details — see the official guideline.)
- Jharkhand Ethanol Production Promotion Policy 2022Listed on Single Window; terms — see the official guideline.
- Jharkhand State Solar Policy 2022Listed on Single Window; terms — see the official guideline.
- Jharkhand Tourism Policy 2021Tourism incentives referred from JIIPP 2021; — see the official guideline.
- Jharkhand Electric Vehicle PolicyListed on Single Window (year not printed); — see the official guideline.
- Draft JIIPP 2026 (not notified)Draft: CPIS MSME 20% up to Rs 15 crore, non-MSME 25% up to Rs 30 crore; zone top-up +3%/+5%; SC/ST/women/Divyang +5% up to Rs 5 crore; Net SGST ceiling 200% of FCI
- Draft Jharkhand Textile, Apparel & Footwear Policy 2026 (not notified)Released July 2026 for consultation; — see the official guideline.
- Mukhyamantri Laghu evam Kutir Udyam Vikas Board schemesBoard portal mmlkuvb.jharkhand.gov.in linked from Single Window; schemes — see the official guideline.
- Startup portal (abvil.jharkhand.gov.in)Linked from Single Window; Startup Policy 2016 is the last policy listed
§4District zones
In many states the subsidy rate changes with the zone of the district or block.
ZoneITDP (Integrated Tribal Development Project) areas - Food & Feed Processing Policy 2024Food units: CPIS 45% (cap Rs 20 crore) vs 35% (Rs 15 crore); cold chain 45% (Rs 15 crore) vs 35% (Rs 10 crore); PPC/CC 75% vs 50%; interest 6% up to Rs 3 crore vs 5% up to Rs 2 crore. Policy annexure lists ITDPs against districts; whether whole district is covered is not stated.
West Singhbhum (Chaibasa, Chakradharpur ITDPs) · Dumka · Gumla · Jamtara · Khunti · Latehar · Lohardaga · Pakur · East Singhbhum · Sahibganj (Rajmahal ITDP) · Ranchi · Saraikela-Kharsawan · Simdega · Godda · Garhwa
Jharkhand Food and Feed Processing Industry Policy 2024 (Gazette No. 169, notification 15 Mar 2024)ZoneGeneral areas - Food & Feed Processing Policy 2024 (districts not in the ITDP annexure)Base food-policy rates (35% CPIS, 5% interest).
Bokaro · Chatra · Deoghar · Dhanbad · Giridih · Hazaribagh · Koderma · Palamu · Ramgarh
Jharkhand Food and Feed Processing Industry Policy 2024 (Gazette No. 169, notification 15 Mar 2024)Schemes for some districts only
- Food Policy 2024 ITDP-area higher CPIS and interest subsidyWest Singhbhum (Chaibasa, Chakradharpur ITDPs), Dumka, Gumla, Jamtara, Khunti, Latehar, Lohardaga, Pakur, East Singhbhum, Sahibganj (Rajmahal ITDP), Ranchi, Saraikela-Kharsawan, Simdega, Godda, Garhwa
- Food Policy 2024 ODOP +5% CPIS (each district for its listed product)All 24 districts
- JIIPP 2021 anchor unit +5% CPIS - first 2 anchor units in each districtAll districts (first two anchors each)
→Industrial land in this stateAgency, portal, allotment, lease
§5Famous for
- JamshedpurTata Steel's integrated steel works and the city built around it →
- Adityapur–Gamharia industrial areaAuto components for trucks and commercial vehicles →
- Dhanbad–Jharia coalfieldCoking coal mining — India's 'Coal Capital' →
- Chirkunda (Dhanbad)Fire-clay and high-alumina refractory bricks →
- Bokaro Steel CitySAIL's Bokaro Steel Plant and hand-forging smithies nearby →
- Koderma–Giridih mica beltMica mining and mica-based products →
- Khunti and Ranchi lac beltLac cultivation and processing →
- Kuchai (Saraikela-Kharsawan), Bhagaiya (Godda) and Santhal ParganaTussar (tasar) silk — cocoons, yarn and handloom sarees →
- Hazaribagh (Bhelwara, Jorakath villages)Sohrai and Khovar mural painting →
§6Choose your district
For each district: its ODOP product, its subsidy zone and the schemes that run only there.
- BokaroWoodcraftAspirational
- ChatraVegetableAspirational
- DeogharLac Products
- DhanbadCoal
- DumkaBambooAspirational
- East SinghbumPaithkar PaintingAspirational
- GarhwaCarpetsAspirational
- GiridihSteel-TMT BarAspirational
- GoddaTasar SilkAspirational
- GumlaRagiAspirational
- HazaribaghSohrai PaintingAspirational
- JamtaraNuts- Cashew
- KhuntiLacAspirational
- KodermaMica
- LateharMahuaAspirational
- LohardagaHoneyAspirational
- PakurJuteAspirational
- PalamuPulses- ArharAspirational
- RamgarhSilver JewelleryAspirational
- RanchiReady Made GarmentsAspirational
- SahebganjJuteAspirational
- Saraikela KharsawanKharsawan Silk
- SimdegaMinor Forest ProduceAspirational
- West SinghbhumCustard AppleAspirational
§7Focus sectors & ODOP
JIIPP 2021 high priority: textiles & apparel; auto, auto components & EV; agro & meat processing; pharmaceuticals; ESDMPriority: startups, education, healthcare, tourism, IT/ITeS, breweries & distilleries, renewable energy, light & medium engineeringMineral base: steel, cement, aluminium, coal-based industriesFood & feed: dairy, meat, millets, MFP (mahua, chironji, honey), cold chain
ODOP / clusters3 entriesODOP for food processing (Food Policy 2024, +5% CPIS): Deoghar & Dumka - Dairy products; East Singhbhum - Cashew nut; Hazaribagh - Jaggery; Jamtara - Paddy based (puffed/flattened rice); Khunti - Tamarind; Koderma - Ragi; Latehar - Mahua; Lohardaga - Green peas & vegetables; Pakur - Meat processing; Ranchi - Honey; Sahibganj - Pickle; Saraikela-Kharsawan - Chironji; West Singhbhum - Custard apple; Bokaro & Dhanbad - Paddy/rice; Chatra - Tomato; Garhwa - Chilli; Giridih - Maize products; Godda - Cowpeas; Gumla - Mango products (pickle); Palamu - Pulses; Ramgarh - Potato products; Simdega - Jackfruit
- ODOP for food processing (Food Policy 2024, +5% CPIS): Deoghar & Dumka - Dairy products; East Singhbhum - Cashew nut; Hazaribagh - Jaggery; Jamtara - Paddy based (puffed/flattened rice); Khunti - Tamarind; Koderma - Ragi; Latehar - Mahua; Lohardaga - Green peas & vegetables; Pakur - Meat processing; Ranchi - Honey; Sahibganj - Pickle; Saraikela-Kharsawan - Chironji; West Singhbhum - Custard apple; Bokaro & Dhanbad - Paddy/rice; Chatra - Tomato; Garhwa - Chilli; Giridih - Maize products; Godda - Cowpeas; Gumla - Mango products (pickle); Palamu - Pulses; Ramgarh - Potato products; Simdega - Jackfruit
- ODOP general (Invest India, May 2023): Bokaro - Woodcraft; Chatra - Vegetables; Deoghar - Lac products; Dhanbad - Coal; Dumka - Bamboo; Garhwa - Carpets; Giridih - Steel TMT bar; Godda - Tasar silk; Gumla - Mango; Hazaribagh - Sohrai painting; East Singhbhum - Paitkar painting; Jamtara - Cashew; Khunti - Lac; Koderma - Mica; Latehar - Mahua; Lohardaga - Honey; Pakur - Jute; Palamu - Arhar; Ramgarh - Silver jewellery; Ranchi - Readymade garments; Sahibganj - Jute; Saraikela-Kharsawan - Kharsawan silk; Simdega - Minor forest produce; West Singhbhum - Custard apple
- Clusters named in sources: Adityapur Electronic Manufacturing Cluster (secondary source)
§8Why do business here — and why not
Merits
- Micro units get 40% CPIS up to a Rs 15 crore cap, plus 5% more for SC/ST, women and Divyang residents (MSME Policy 2023, 6.1).
- Food processors in tribal ITDP areas get 45% CPIS and 6% interest subsidy; collection centres up to 75% (Food Policy 2024, 8.1-8.3).
- Women exporters get 90% of trade-fair stall cost up to Rs 4.5 lakh (Export Policy 2023, 11.5).
- MSME (Special Concession) Act 2025 gives an approval-exemption route for MSMEs (Act, Nov 2025).
Demerits
- Main industrial policy JIIPP 2021 ended 31 Mar 2026 and the 2026 successor is still a draft - large investors face a policy gap (JIIPP 2021 period; draft JIIPP 2026).
- Stamp duty refund does not cover JIADA or industrial-park plots (MSME Policy 6.3).
- CPIS is back-ended: half in year 1, half in year 3 after production (MSME Policy 6.1(b)).
- Secondary review (IMPRI) records only Rs 424 crore of IEM filings by Mar 2023 against Rs 8,950 crore MoUs announced in 2021 (low confidence).
¶Still being researched
We could not confirm these points from an official source, so no figure is printed on the page.
Open items10 points pending
- JH: no notification found extending JIIPP 2021 beyond 31 Mar 2026; status of claims for units commissioned after that date unclear
- JH: Draft JIIPP 2026 figures are draft only - do not publish as current
- JH: Common Incentive Disbursement Guideline (document checklist) — see the official guideline.
- JH: MSME (Special Concession) Act 2025 is in Hindi; exemption schedule — see the official guideline.
- JH: EV, Ethanol 2022, Solar 2022 and Tourism 2021 policies — see the official guideline.
- JH: Startup policy after 2016 not found; abvil.jharkhand.gov.in not opened
- JH: CM employment-generation / MMLKUVB schemes — see the official guideline.
- JH: Export Policy transport subsidy rate (only the Rs 20 lakh cap is printed)
- JH: ITDP annexure maps ITDPs to districts; whether entire district counts as ITDP area not stated
- Draft JIIPP 2026 zones (not notified) removed from display: DRAFT JIIPP 2026 Zone 1 (not notified): Ranchi, East Singhbhum, Dhanbad, Bokaro, Ramgarh, Saraikela Kharsawan, West Singhbhum; DRAFT JIIPP 2026 Zone 2 (not notified): Hazaribagh, Chatra, Giridih, Koderma, Simdega, Gumla, Khunti, Lohardaga, Latehar, Palamu, Garhwa; DRAFT JIIPP 2026 Zone 3 (not notified): Deoghar, Dumka, Godda, Jamtara, Pakur, Sahibganj
